Introducing the 2018 Excellence in Safety Award Finalists

Posted by Reyna Clow
Find me on:

Recognizing Outstanding Safety Leaders Throughout 2018

Recognizing safety professionals each year for their unique innovation, dedication and best practices within the heavy-duty industries, we are proud to announce the three finalists for the 2018 Excellence in Safety Award: Curv Compliance’s Fernando Figueroa, Bayer’s Heather Fry, and Quinn Company’s Lucas Kwan.

Preco_Pg7_BuildingPrecoBrand082416-4We received a record number of nominations this year, each of which showcased accomplished safety professionals. We believe the three finalists set the example as individuals with exceptional proofs of innovation, leadership, vision, and best practices in safety. Each an example of demonstrated excellence we hope will allow those within the heavy-duty industries to recognize the potential within their industry, community or business.

As the global leader in heavy-duty collision mitigation safety technologies, we commemorate the following three award finalists for their outstanding achievements:

Fernando Figueroa

Fernando Figueroa, President and co-founder of Curv Compliance, has built his career on keeping employees safe, adequately trained and knowledgeable. Through these quality Environmental, Health, Safety and Compliance Service (EHSC) systems, Figueroa has reduced injuries and illnesses in the workplace across the industries.

Figueroa, who serves as a member of the safety committee for Associated General Contractors of America (AGC) and many others, is recognized for his initiative in launching Curv, a safety and compliance focused outfit. Designed to provide safety audits, inspections, education, and guidance for businesses in need of industry-specific compliance resources, Curv implements corrective action processes to establish safe and effective operations.

Leading by example, Figueroa personally and professionally places safety above convenience and makes knowledge, information and help accessible to those who need it. Under his leadership, Curv has been named the two-time recipient of San Antonio, California’s AGC chapter “Service Provider of the Year” award.

Heather Fry

Heather Fry, Health, Safety, Environment (HSE) Specialist at Bayer, earned her Master Degree in Occupational Safety and Health. At Bayer, Fry supports over 1,500 employees and has cultivated an existing safety culture while playing an instrumental role in the shift towards the acceptance of fleet technologies.

Fry was the Project Lead with the implementation process of telematics within the Monsanto fleet. Having reached full implementation in August 2017, the telematics systems have already reduced accident rates, improved driver safety, generating a free flow of operator performance data. Thus, establishing a line of communication bolstering the significance of technology adoption. To ensure easy access to vital safety information, stories and tips, Fry created an internal safety newsletter, distributed to all employees in the United States and Canada. Fry is set to begin the process of implementing telematics on the Bayer fleet after the realized benefits within the Monsanto fleet.

Lucas Kwan

Throughout his 25 years as a Safety Compliance Manager, Lucas Kwan has exemplified excellence in safety through his continuous support and dedication to the every-day safety and wellbeing of his employees. Understanding the importance of transparency, communication and thought leadership, Kwan works to unify his employees under these three pillars when implementing programs, understanding the risks of the job, and teaching best safety practices by creating an open culture of sharing, educating and listening.

Kwan, who took over as Quinn Company’s Safety Compliance Manager 11 years ago, has successfully restructured Quinn’s health and safety culture, decreased the incident rate by 85 percent, and saw zero lost-time due to injuries in 2018.

Honorable Nominees:

David Gauthier, City of Chesapeake

Debabrata Datta, Larsen & Toubro India

Dennis Steele, Coldwater Board of Public Utilities

Devin Stewart, Autonomous Solutions

Eric S. Powell, Lehigh Southwest Cement

Glenn Boulrice, B&R Rubber Servicesshutterstock_528092470

Herbert Scharinger, S&G Automobil AG

Herve Forquet, Phoenix Services

John Baker, Arkad Engineering and Construction

Jerome Toliver, Predictive Coach

Michelle Walker, Phoenix Services

Mike Koppenstein, Avista Utilities

Mohammed Hasan, Creation Heavy Equipment Trading

Paul Razore, Sanitary Service Company

Ramesh Kumar, KRK Foundation

Rustam Sharafudinov, Vostochanya Technica

Shina Okuntade, Chrema Technologies Limited

We appreciate the participation and nominations received. It is an honor to be among outstanding safety leaders such as our nominees and to hear from those who support and recognize their hard work and dedication to safety. 

About the Excellence in Safety Award

As a leader in safety, the Excellence in Safety Award was established to honor safety professionals for their initiative and commitment to the advancement of safety within their community, business or industry. The Excellence in Safety Award honors those with exceptional proofs of innovation, leadership, vision, and best practices in safety within heavy-duty industries.

This award is intended to recognize an individual that demonstrates excellence in advancing best safety practices throughout the community, business or industry by continuously going above and beyond to integrate, innovate, and educate others to inspire change and improve safety.

Award Criteria

  • Initiative: The nominee demonstrates leadership, initiates open discussions, introduces programs, and gives voice to safety concerns within the industry, community, or business.
  • Involvement: The nominee takes an active role in industry associations, community safety programs, and/or business/legislative policy changes to advance safety.
  • Innovative: The nominee is creative and imaginative; introduces new ideas and suggestions to move safety into the forefront of the community, legislature, business or industry they serve.

Topics: PRECO Electronics, Excellence in Safety Award

Who We Are

PRECO Electronics is a global technology provider that improves safety for operators, worksites, and the public. The effectiveness of our object detection radar systems is unmatched in heavy duty vehicle industries.

Subscribe to Blog Updates

Recent Posts

Posts by Topic

see all